Friday 29 July 2022

Moorfoot Sunday Run, John Buchan Way, 24th July

 Despite the summer break, and people away on holiday, I was pleasantly surprised that we had a nice group gathered together to run the John Buchan Way last Sunday.


Kerry - who is great company and always present when she has nothing else in her diary - joined the run. Kerry and I did the John Buchan Way together last year when the weather was pretty rough. I really enjoyed doing it together again under better weather circumstances, and bringing up our memories of how extremely good the hot chocolate tasted after our first run!


Tim was also present. I did the run with Tim last year until halfway and I was looking forward showing him the rest of the beautiful route. As a true nature lover he loved the second part of the route, and I agree that the remote feeling you get after Stobo is absolutely great!


Pete C joined us last minute too and you wouldn't have noticed he normally doesn't do the longer distances! After I promised the rest of the route would only be downhill we bumped into one hill I forgot. Luckily Pete directly forgot that too when he saw Mike who offered him a drive in his electric car! 


Although Mike was not running the route, he was waiting for us with a smile in Broughton, facilitated the coffee and cake and gave us a lift home where I learned a bit more about triathlons. Just fabulous! 


All-in-all it was a lovely Sunday that is hard to beat (not even with a Mythos beer at a beautiful beach in Corfu) and I am very much looking forward to the next Sunday run!

Monday 25 July 2022

Club Champs update 25/07/2022


Update on the results after Lee Pen, Kelso 10k some podiums at Hartfell and some parkrunning.

RaceTOTAL PointsGypsy GlenPenicuik 10kWobbly BridgeBlack RockStitchill10kRed Moss KippsTraprain Law7 HillsEildon Hill RaceMoffat FestivalLee PenKelso 10kPhiliphaugh
Martin Holt200101010151010
Tim Warner12010102015
Gillian Carr11510101015
Milan Misak10510101010
Dean Carr100101010101510
Heather Young9010101010
Andy Cox901010
Dorien Kimenai852015
Diane Challands7010
Carol Moss701010
Jen Misak651015
Robbie Devlin551010
Craig Bennett4510
Colin Williams45101510
Coreen McGovern40101010
Peter Caddick351015
Vicky Morrison351010
Philip Coutts30
Brian Smith251010
Pamella Swalwell251010
Kerry Law251015
Kevin Rafferty201010
Ian Munro201010
Maggie Oliver1510
Robert Wilson1510
Eilidh Davidson15
Alan Elder1515
Thomas Jones1010
Mike Goddard1010
Mike McGovern1010
Noel Quinn1010
Simon Hammond1010
Beth Hanson1010
Hamish Parkinson1010
Danny Lavin10
Alex Campbell5
David Waldie5
Scott Gourlay5
Pete Hall5
Martin Quirke5
Nigel Shekleton5
Amy Capper5
Rosie Shankey5
Mike Pearson5

Next 3 races in the Champs are Philiphaugh (07/08), Caerketton (10/08) and the Cademuir Roller coaster (13/08)